The Beginning of the Beginning

I am the youngest staff member at my library and believe that I am at a huge advantage over them in regards to Web 2.0. (Not to mention computers and the internet as a whole.) Not only were computers in schools commenplace by my sixth grade year, but I had one in my home by elementary school. I took mandatory typing classes, was allowed to use the classroom computer for good behavior or test scores, and was even accepted into a selective program for students who used laptop computers in lieu of textbooks. For these reasons and more I am very lucky.
That being said, I must admit to my dependency on the computer. Last week the county’s harddrive was on the fritz and we were unable to connect to the internet or Workflows. I don’t know what it means to not have a computer to assist me in completing a task. Whether I am looking up weekend weather in Ocean City or researching for my Women in European History course, I am at the mercy of the internet. Databases are a college student’s best friend, as is Myspace.com (for those times when Ebscohost just isn’t keeping my attention!)

I am in love with the technology that makes my life as a college student and circ. desk associate easier, and others will be as well once they learn about the capabilities of the internet. Web 2.0 is the beginning of the beginning for so many people. The people who once thought they could go without accessing the internet on a weekly basis are finding it more difficult to stay in touch with their loved ones, download videos of their grandchild’s pre-school graduation off YouTube, and read the newspapers they were, at one time, able to get on their doorstep.
Ignorance may be bliss, but it’s not in this case. Today ignorance begets ignorance and that is just not acceptable.
What's On Your Mind?

