Book title: How much joy can you handle??

Tina’s excellent response;
“Well I haven’t quite reached my threshold yet…”

That made me laugh. And then it made me think. How much joy can I handle before I start feeling like something has to go wrong? You know what I’m talking about; the feeling that since so much has gone right, the planets must re-align and hit you with your usual dose of crappiness. But what if nothing bad happened, went wrong, went awry, etc?? What if your good streak simply tapered off into regularity instead of taking a speedy dive to the bottom??
I have worked at Starbucks on-and-off for four years and it was there that I have encountered the most ridiculous people I have ever met. They snear at me for being to chipper in the morning, quiver when I offer them a free beverage because of the coffee’s near-expiration time, and look suspicious when their drink took a mere thirty seconds to make (instead of the standard two minutes). Why can’t people say “thank you,” say a quick thank you to the good man upstaires, and spread the joy they were so pleasantly given earlier in the day?

Left turn here…
I am absolutely head over heels in love with the Harry Potter series. In thirteen days I’ve read three and a half books, and it’s only taken me that long because I seem to keep getting distracted by work, concerts, and a certain guy. When I’m not doing one of the above tasks, I am reading. I am addicted. I skipped the gym the other day to read. (And I didn’t even skip the gym on my sister’s wedding day!) Only the works of Jodi Picoult and John Grisham have kept me as enthralled as J.K. Rowling’s series of a boy wizard and his steller friends, hateful family, and unbelievable school. Thanks to J.C. for finding the right words that persuaded me to finally pick up book one; you were right. 🙂

2 thoughts on “Book title: How much joy can you handle??

  1. Pingback: Wednesday reads: where have I been?? | A Librarian's Take

What's On Your Mind?

