Cover letter, cover letter, cover letter

I just took a look at my thumb drive. I have 11 saved cover letters. That means that within the past 2-3 weeks I have applied to 11 jobs. At least. Because there are more jobs that require an online application, sans cover letter. To the best of my knowledge, I am at 20 applications.

This is becoming overkill.

The hardest part is, no two cover letters are alike because each position requires a different skill set. Look, I am glad to write a new cover letter every time, but in doing so I have become immune to my abilities, skills, and general awesomeness. No, really. I am getting bored with writing about myself, and the more I do it, the quicker I’ll come to the realization that no one is hiring me.

I wrote in one letter that I was aware I was “overqualified” for the position, but that I wanted it nonetheless. That despite applying for a job that requires a high school diploma, I still want that job because it allows me to be in a library. THAT is what is important to me at this point in my life. Do I want a paycheck that equals my talents? Yup. Do I want a title that proves how hard I have worked for it? You bet… But the most important thing right now is to be in a library. Not in Starbucks, Borders, or at a desk somewhere. I need to be in a library.

I really hope that someone recognizes this and calls me in for an interview. This week I have been sent 5 “You’re not good enough” letters. I need some positive. Faith takes me far, but it doesn’t pay the bills.

I leave you with a picture to make you (okay, me) smile:

One thought on “Cover letter, cover letter, cover letter

  1. You want to avoid running into the trap of becoming numb to the cover letter. I found that this had happened to me so I stopped, took a deep breath, and instead of writing about why I was qualified for this job I wrote about why I cared about librarians and public service. Also, having been armed with an MLS in the "real world" I have been told I was not qualified to be a page in a library, shelving books. Don't believe the hype!

What's On Your Mind?

