A job offer, with a side of confusion

I got a job offer today! But sadly it’s outside of my field (big shock there) and is in Northern Virginia. So here’s my dilemma:

I want to accept the offer and begin work next month. I want to start working there before my current job ends so that I will have something definite to go into when I am done at Thurgood Marshall Academy on Dec. 17th. But what if I do get a job offer in the library field? I would hate say, “Thanks, but it’s been a month and now I’m done!” I would also hate to back out because I can’t afford to live in Northern Virginia on a Starbucks salary (<$10/hr).

I am upset that a Starbucks manager is the only guy that has said, “Your resume is impressive and I want you to work here.” I know there are other unemployed people who have been unemployed longer than I have. And I know they would kill for any job. So would I!!! But right now, there is more than a job to consider. Where will I live? How will I become self-sufficient enough to pay for rent and utilities, my car, and, soon enough, student loans? Will I need two jobs?

I am applying to jobs all up and down the Eastern seaboard: Carolinas, DC-metro region, New England. I am amazed that none of them wants me. Oooh, did you see that? Up there? That’s my bubble bursting. Pretty little book-shaped bubbles popping all over the place…

…just a little woes-is-me blog. Nothing that requires a response.

Aaaaaaaaaaaaand scene

2 thoughts on “A job offer, with a side of confusion

  1. This isn't a sympathy response, just to say that I've been there, I feel your pain and your dilemma. Just let me know if you come up with a reasonable answer. A lot of iSchool graduates could benefit from your wisdom.

  2. You have a good support system and you will find something.. It is just a tough environment right now.. But no def. do not go to Starbucks to make only 10 an hour… Unless you intend you live around that area you can work and look at the same time.. People should understand.. People settle to have a job and than continue to find something different… nothing newlove you

What's On Your Mind?

