To lie or not to lie, that is the question…

According to the Human Resources phone-answerer at George Mason University, my application for History and Political Science Liaison Librarian was instantly rejected because I chose the response ‘no’ to the question, “Do you currently hold an MLS?” I chose ‘no’ because I applied in September, a mere 4 months before I would receive my MLS. Had I chosen ‘yes’, I would have been lying.

Obviously, I am upset. The first holy-crap-I’m-going-to-be-unemployed-soon cry of my life kind of upset. I wasn’t even considered because I was 4 months away from having my MLS. THIS close, y’all.

This. Close.

I feel as though the only thing I ever talk about is my lack of a job, my impending unemployment. I’ve put out the applications, dozens, as a matter of fact. No interviews, 5 ‘Thanks but no thanks’ letters.

So I am branching out from the East Coast. I applied to the University of Alaska today, folks. Alaska. If I had more medical terminology knowledge I would apply for the Air Force Librarian job in Italy. But it doesn’t matter how far I am willing to travel. Because it’s not me that’s the problem; it’s the lack of jobs. Over 200 people applied for the GMU job. 2oo librarians!! That is an obscene number of MLS-holding professionals who are looking for a job. I mean, I don’t just feel bad for me right now, I feel bad for all of us! And thank God I only have me to worry about. If I had a family I would be going absolutely crazy right now.

So a lot of tears and a blog post later, I am hitting the ground running. Day 64, the search for a job continues. (Days calculated by how long I have been in current position which is the day I started looking for my next job.)

3 thoughts on “To lie or not to lie, that is the question…

  1. I want to tell you that things will get better, but we have to accept each little bit of encouragement that comes our way even if it's from people outside the field who don't understand how few jobs there are. I think you're doing the right thing by branching out your applications to include international libraries too. I also posted a few blog entries with a similar situation to yours (lying about whether or not I had my MLS). I'm linking you to them on my blog. I hope they shed some insight for you.Part 1 – Lying about your degree (of experience) http://bethsbookworld.blogspot.com/2010/04/lying-about-your-degree-of-experience.htmlPart II – http://bethsbookworld.blogspot.com/2010/04/lying-part-ii.html

What's On Your Mind?

