Apologies…

So you know how things go…you get busy (end of semester/graduation) and you forget about your responsibilities (blogging) and then depressed (because you can’t land a library job), and then don’t read anything about libraries except for job openings and descriptions.

But I’m back on track now. That’s because today I started at Bowie State University in Bowie, Maryland. I am the newest adjunct reference librarian, on contract until June 30th (with hopes, of course, to extend that each semester, indefinitely). I am so happy to be where I am. After one day of training I already feel like a part of the camaraderie of the library staff, and cannot wait to get to work on my various responsibilities.

Being a librarian at a university means that I should add the ALA division ACRL (Association of College and Research Libraries) to my list of ALA division memberships. I totally buy into the importance of joining your professional association and all of its appropriate divisions and associations. Why?? Because where else will you find a large number (approx. 62,000) of equally enthusiastic folks that do your same job? Who else will support your mission, answer your questions, give you feedback, and help you be the best professional you can be? I love ALA and am so proud to be a member.

I am especially excited right now because I will be spending the last week of June in New Orleans, Louisiana. I am stoked!! I lived in Slidell, LA for 2 years, and fondly remember the Audubon Zoo (I met Captain Planet!), the French Quarter, Mardi Gras parades, visiting my dad on the military base, and even the not so good things like a successful operation at Tulane Medical Center, fights with my sister, and unsuccessfully trying out the nickname “Al”, (thankfully that never caught on). Therefore, I could not be more happy about going back. And even better, I’ll be spending an entire week there, the first three days of which will be with my sister’s family and my boyfriend. Amanda and I are so excited to show our men-folk the beautiful place we used to live.

Back to the blog…okay, I’m back! This time with a slightly new slant: university libraries. But no worries, I am still a YALSA member, and still love posting more about my personal self than my professional one. 🙂

4 thoughts on “Apologies…

  1. Congratulations on your fresh start! I'm glad you were not only able to find an awesome job in libraries but that you can also go to professional conferences. Most of all I'm glad that you already have such a camaraderie with your co-workers already. I'm really proud of you April and I'm glad to have spent grad school with you. You're going to make a fantastic librarian. Look out, Bowie!

  2. You should go the ACRL conference in April. Among many other fab speakers, Clinton from "What Not to Wear" will be there (not to give all the librarians fashion advice though LOL)

What's On Your Mind?

