A new year, a new challenge

I am a member of LibraryThing. It is a wonderful website that allows users to catalog books they have read, discuss titles, browse others’ catalogs, and much, much more. It is akin to Goodreads, but I prefer the simplicity of LibraryThing. My user name is Grabbag, so please find me, friend me, and stalk me. I mean…share book titles with me.

According to LT I read 67 books last year. That seems to be the trend with me. 67 books a year.

I can do better.

So my goal is to read 75 books this year. I know that is only 8 more than last year, but I have another goal which will take up even more time. That goal is to read more thoroughly. (Read thoroughlier?) I don’t want to rush. I don’t want to skip the dull parts. I want to really read every word, digest every paragraph, and remember every details. So while I am only attempting to read 8 more titles, I will be attempting to read more completely all 75 titles.

I am also going to attempt to blog about these titles. I may have nothing to say. I may have a lot. But I need to work on my skills of explication and description. I am also going to join a couple local book clubs, one led by a coworker at another library, and also Capitol Choices. I’ll force myself out of my comfort zone (YA dystopian, historical fiction, realistic fiction, adult fiction where people cut off their limbs, etc.)

…all while planning a Spring 2013 wedding!!

Yeah…that’s not a too much on my plate, right?

3 thoughts on “A new year, a new challenge

  1. These are fantastic goals to have while planning a wedding on top of it! I found out I had an account with Librarything and completely forgot about it. I use goodreads to keep track of what I've read just so I remember. My memory is so horrible sometimes I'll recognize a cover of a book I've read but will completely forget the content/what it was about. Oh well, I guess that's why there are re-reads.But honestly, is there a real difference between librarything and goodreads? I find that I can find entries for authors new books long before our library system has them and it's pretty.

  2. Pingback: Nearing the End/Beginning Anew « A Librarian's Take

  3. Pingback: Resolution status: COMPLETE « A Librarian's Take

What's On Your Mind?

