Book 3: The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern


This is a book about a circus. Not the Barnum& Bailey variety we have all experienced, but a shades of grey night-time circus. Illusionists, tarot readers, contortionists, themed tents, a hall of mirrors, an icy wonderland that smells of frozen flowers. A dream circus, Le Cirque des Rêves, that appears overnight and departs just as mysteriously.

And that is the setting of The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern, a beautifully crafted, mysterious love story about Celia and Marco. But the bevy of characters that support the two magicians are just as, if not more, interesting than the lovebirds. Widget, Poppet, and Bailey are wonderful young people who I wish I could know in real life. My heart hurt for Isobel when her own heart was broken. The setting was protrayed perfectly, as I felt the iciness of the ice tent, the heat of the bonfire, the energy in the air when they kissed…

But this book is not without faults. When I am done reading “one of my favorite books ever!”, I realize that I have written down favorite quotes, beautifully written lines, or interesting facts to follow-up on. I did not do any of this with The Night Circus. I was very disappointed when I realized that, while descriptive and memorable, the book was not outstanding. In this instance, the whole is not greater than the sum of its parts.

What's On Your Mind?

