Book 4: Ashes by Ilsa J. Bick

Another dystopian novel! Yes! Give me more!

No seriously, I adore dystopian novels. I don’t know what about them draws me in so deeply; maybe the perfect mixture of realism and fantasy. Maybe the determined attitude. Maybe because I want to live in a world where I can be tested on more than just my ability to recommend a book (which I do quite well, thank you) or bake (I’m not bad…).

But Ashes by Ilsa J. Bick left me wanting more. So much so that, 3/4 of the way in I skipped to the end, read the last 2 chapters, and called it a day. The first half of the book was made of intense, don’t read alone at night, don’t let your feet touch the ground stuff. Then she found herself in a safe community where she could have just blended in. But nnnoooo, she had to pull the whiny teenager card and complain about everything, question things that no normal person would question, and find herself revolting against something that really did not need to be revolted against.

The characters were boring, whiny, and annoying. The setting was poorly developed, the situations over-processed, the ending as boring as the beginning was thrilling. I do not recommend this book. To anyone.

What's On Your Mind?

