Books I’ve Quit Halfway Through

I’m sorry, book. You aren’t what I thought you would be. Maybe it was my misinterpretation of the summaries I read? Or the publisher can’t write a factual synopsis to save her life? I was interested, intrigued, excited, even! But now that I have started you, I can’t wait to quit you.

Books I’ve quit so far this year:

The Marriage Plot by Jeffrey Eugenides, as quasi-reviewed here.

The Vanished by Heidi Julavits, a kind-of-paranormal adult novel about a student of parapsychology (um, she’s in college to be a psychic?) whose professor attacks her with her mind. Wait, what?? Also, I am (was) listening to this on audio CD and was thoroughly annoyed at the breathy voice the narrator used. I feel like that added to the creepiness of the story, thereby turning me off completely.

The Science of Yoga by William J Broad was a very well-researched discussion of all the research done on yoga since the its inception. But it was a bit too much for me. The introduction was great and got me super-psyched to read the book! I was the first at my library to get it, after being on hold for months waiting for its publication date to come around. Then I tried reading it, and I found it to be a tad boring. (I didn’t except an easy narrative read, but I expected…less than what I got. Perhaps that is my own fault.)  Broad obviously tried very hard not to hurt any researcher’s feelings, and it was that inability to commit to a ‘side’ that made me return the book well before its due date. I still recommend the title to those interested in yoga, and those who enjoy facts.

1Q84 by Haruki Murakami (translated by Jay Rubin and Philip Gabriel) was another audiobook I turned off. The female reader had a too-soothing voice, as my intentions for audiobooks are to help get me to the gym at 6:30am and get me home at 6pm (or as late as 9pm). Her voice was too sweet, soothing, and rhythmic. OBVIOUSLY no one’s fault but my own.

I will add more titles as they come, and they will surely come.

One thought on “Books I’ve Quit Halfway Through

  1. Pingback: I Quit « A Librarian's Take

What's On Your Mind?

