The books I am currently reading

The list of “books I’m currently reading” is always a long one. Yes, I am one of those freaks who can read more than one (read: 5) books at a time. I am 1/3 of the way through each of them right now, so I don’t see myself blogging a new review until mid-week next week. Therefore, I thought I’d sate you with the titles and a little teaser of each book I am currently working through:

Ready Player One by Ernest Cline (Alex Award winning title): It’s 2045 and the entire world is trying to find the ‘Easter Egg’ hidden in the computer-generated multi-player universe OASIS (think combo of Facebook, Second Life, and the Sims). 5 years after the search kicked off, teenaged Wade Watts finds the first of 3 keys, sparking a global race to find the Egg.

Interrupted: a life beyond words by (fifteen year old) Rachel Coker is the 1940s story of Allie, a shy teen who is relocated to Maine after the death of her best friend and mother. I began reading this after it was recommended to me as a potential title for the 1Book1Community for Loudoun County Public Library. (I am a committee member helping choose this year’s title).

Anya’s War by Andrea Alban Gosine: Anya and her Jewish family fled the Soviet Union to live with her mother’s parents in Shanghai-hi. While riding her brand new bicycle through her neighborhood she finds an abandoned newborn baby. Another title I am considering adding to my list of potential 1Book1Community books.

Jasper Jones by Craig Silvey: a 2012 Printz Award honor book, the story begins with the brutal murder of a young girl. Jasper knows he will be the scapegoat, so he asks Charlie to help clear his name.

Reviews to come next week!

What's On Your Mind?

