Book 31: Ready Player One by Ernest Cline

Holy cow, Ready Player One by Ernest Cline is one of the coolest, most unique books I’ve read all year. No, make that the coolest and the most unique. I have recommended this book to no less than 7 friends and 11 strangers (including my server at P.F. Changs on Firdya night, where – get this – they have a very sizable gluten free menu!). I am begging specific men in my life to read this book because I just know they will get a kick out of the 80s game, movie, and music references. In fact, a teen and I JUST had the following conversation:

D: Ms. April, I don’t like your summer reading theme. If you need space inspiration you should listen to Rush’s album 2112.
Me: I JUST READ A BOOK THAT MAKES A REFERENCE TO THAT!!!!!! YOU SHOULD READ THIS BOOK!!!
D: Okay…
Me: I’M GOING TO PUT YOU ON HOLD FOR IT!!!!
D: Okay… *walks away*

Anyway, the book is set in 2045, when everyone and their mother connects to others, school, and work on a computer system called The Oasis (a combination between Second Life, Facebook, and the Sims). The creator of The Oasis dies and leaves his fortune to the gamer who can find his Easter Egg (a new gaming phrase I just learned…thanks, Ernest Cline!). And so begins Wade’s mission to find the Easter Egg, win the billions, and get on with a better life than the sad one he was born into.

I’ll leave it at that, because the book deserves to be read, not spoiled.

There is already an IMDB account for this book, and there is a ton of really great scenes that would translate well into film…so there is no doubt in my mind that this will be a movie sooner than later. I am no good at casting so I can’t say who’d be good playing which character, I just hope that they don’t choose Michael Cera to be Wade. Because that is predictable and super boring.

Side note: I listened to this on audiobook, and it is read by Wil Wheaton, who, I am told, was an actor on Star Trek: Next Generation. Even before I read this I felt that “this guy is doing a heckuva job narrating this book”…and his penchant for tech and sci-fi only adds to his list of qualifications.

3 thoughts on “Book 31: Ready Player One by Ernest Cline

  1. Thank you for the review – I am going to check out Ready Player One a.s.a.p. You might like the book What Was Lost by English author Catherine O’Flynn — it is set in a mall in the 80s when and also has a lot of references to music from that time period. It is a bit sad at one point but very atmospheric. I love your blog, keep up the good work!

  2. Hi again, one more bit of 80s trivia — Wil Wheaton starred in Stand By Me, one of the best 80s movies out there.

  3. Pingback: Top 5 Reads of 2012 « A Librarian's Take

What's On Your Mind?

