Book 35: A Visit From the Goon Squad by Jennifer Egan

A Visit From the Goon Squadby Jennifer Egan won the Pulitzer Prize for Fiction in 2011. As I have said before, I tend not to read award-winning adult books because they tend to be a bit pretentious; a book for book’s sake…not a truly excellent story worth reading. I won’t say that this wasn’t worth reading, in fact I compared it more than once to the writing style of one of my favorite adult fiction authors, Colum McCann. But, I did not love this book, and more than once I skipped to the next track so I could be done listening to the blithering of whatever character Egan was personifying at that time.

The story follows over a dozen characters spanning from the 80s to the future, each ties into the other, whether you notice it immediately or not. Luckily Egan doesn’t make you think too hard before she reveals the relationship. I appreciated that.

I’ll recommend this book to adults who enjoy short stories, because each chapter in the book follows one character, much like a short story or novellette. There is little action, but excellent characterization. I found myself wanting to know much more about many of the characters.

One thought on “Book 35: A Visit From the Goon Squad by Jennifer Egan

  1. I’m sooo glad someone else was kind of bored my this book. I thought it was completely unnecessary, and I actually usually LOVE this type of format… vignettes sewn together and all linked through characters. Alas, it just… didn’t work here. I ended up not caring enough about anyone, but at the same time, sort of how you mentioned, I kept looking for more.

What's On Your Mind?

