Holy cow, my name is on a byline!

I am a published article writer.

I wrote a research paper/annotated bibliography during grad school in reaction to a few popular articles that decried young adult literature as too dark, full of sadness and violence and death. Then recently I decided to turn that paper into an article for a widely-read publication: VOYA Magazine, Voice of Youth Advocates. It was accepted by the editing staff earlier this year for inclusion in the June 2012 issue, and I was (im)patiently awaiting the day I would finally see my name on a byline.

Well, that day has come. I am a published writer. Please click here to read my article titled Elements of Hope in Suicide Fiction. The article begins on page 28 and ends on page 31.

I’d like to take this opportunity (*this is where you’ll likely stop reading*) to thank those who helped me get to this point in my professional career. All of the teachers who took red pen to my writing errors, everyone who pushed me to do more than the status quo, and to my parents for supporting me in everything I do. But this article is absolutely, 100% dedicated to my fiance Shane. He gives me the daily support that I never knew I needed…and his responses and criticisms are appropriate and helpful, and I would be lost without his advice. I love you, Shane.

If anything in the article interests or enrages you, I’d love to talk with you about it! Please leave a comment, or email me privately at librarian . april [at] hotmail

 

What's On Your Mind?

