The 7 Books I’m Reading, or “Reading”

I’m in one of those ruts where I am reading numerous books, but cannot seem to just finish one. That is why I haven’t blogged in over a week (bad blogger, I know…). Oh, that and I had a crazy fun weekend stand-up paddleboarding and buying a retro card catalog off Craigslist from someone who lives 2 hours away. So in order to keep you interested in my blog between reviews, I will tell you what I am currently reading, listening to, and picking up every day and reading one page or flipping through then putting right back down again. (Hence the or “Reading” part of this post’s title).

The Buddha in the Attic by Julie Otsuka. Does that author’s name ring a bell? It should, because not even 6 weeks ago I posted a review of her book When the Emperor Was Divine, the 2012 Loudoun County Public Library 1Book1Community title. The story is fictional, but it was influenced by real events: Japanese women who emigrated to the United States pre-WWII as “picture brides”. Read this article to learn about the research that went into writing this novelette.
This book is a mere 129 pages, but only 18 pages in I am hooked. She packs so much into each sentence, each paragraph, each page that you cannot skip a sentence for fear of missing an entire theme or plot twist.

I was shelving manga books the other day and came across one of the most stunning covers. (Yeah yeah yeah, I judged a book by its cover. Sue me.) A Bride’s Story vol. 1 by Kaoru Mori is the beautifully-illustrated story of a 20-year old Japanese woman who is arranged to marry a 12-year old boy from a different community. This mixture of historical fiction and manga really intrigued me. I’ll let you know how I like it.

White Truffles in Winter: a novel by N.M. Kelby is the fictional account of the life of famous French chef Auguste Escoffier. His cooking techniques and kitchen organization were industry-changing, and I am excited to see where the author takes the story. And I wonder how she researched. Diaries? Interviews?

Onward: how Starbucks fought for its life without losing its soul by Howard Schultz and Joanne Gordon because I am drawn to anything with the Starbucks siren on it. This includes caffeinated beverages, art, and now a book. I’ve been meaning to read this book penned by the CEO of the company I spent over 4 years with since it was published in March 2011. I respect the company, its ethics and its product, and I was interested in seeing the company from the head honcho’s perspective. While there is quite a bit of patting himself on the back, I don’t mind because it is very deserved. The company has always helpd itself ato very high standards, and it is obvious that Schultz is the reason that the company is the way it is. He is a true leader, relying on the strengths of those he hires, to propel the company forward.
It is timely that I put off reading it until now. I am being interviewed next week for a job that has the word “Head” in it. I was a shift supervisor at Starbucks and currently supervise 4 adult pages (they shelve recently-returned library materials), but this would be my first “real” management-level position. I will relate what I learn from the book/Schultz to this position when I review the book in the next week or so.

I am listening to The Magicians by Lev Grossman. I absolutely LOVE the narrator’s voice. I could listen to him for days! (And luckily, I get to! It’s 14 discs!) The book, though, I am not absolutely loving. I expected to, but I am finding too many similarities to Harry Potter, and not in an “paying homage” kind of way. More like a “no one will notice if there’s a magical tournament between groups of students that is played outside (cough*Quidditch*cough), no one will notice the similarities in magical terminology.

I keep picking up and putting down one of the 2012 Carneige Award honor books, The Information: a history, a theory, a flood by James Gleick. It is a book thick with philosophy and theory and it is difficult to just sit, read, and focus on. I think it may take me a couple months to get through this. But don’t take that to mean it’s not fascinating! Because in 20 pages I have probably 8 Post-It notes keeping track of interesting facts and quotes.

Oh, then my coworker hands me Death Comes to Pemberley by P.D. James. Page 1…done!

Yeah…still trying to plan a wedding here, folks. Perhaps I’ve overloaded myself a bit?

2 thoughts on “The 7 Books I’m Reading, or “Reading”

  1. Look forward to hearing your review of “A Bride’s Story”. If you end up liking it, the author also wrote a series called “Emma” that’s a manga take on a star-crossed lovers story set in Victorian London. It’s pretty good if that’s a period you’re interested in, though I didn’t like the anime series as much.

What's On Your Mind?

