Hitting up Hollywood

I am convinced that there are no original screenplays anymore.* Seriously, every time I go to the theater I find myself whispering to my companion (or the stranger sitting next to me) “That was a book! That was SO a book first!” It has turned into a game that I play during the 36 previews I have to sit through (to watch a 90 minute movie!): find the books-turned-screenplays. Luckily I can stop doing that now, as a fellow YALSA listserv member** posted a list of YA-books-turned-movies along with release years (because we all know that release dates can change with the wind, or the projected income from that weekend. Seriously I am SO mad they moved back The Great Gatsby just because some producers thought it would make more money as a summer flick. ARG! I want my DiCaprio-as-Gatsby!)

The list (which I edited as I confirmed delayed releases):

 

2012

Perks of Being a Wallflower (In theaters, September 21, 2012)

Life of Pi (In theaters, November 12th, 2012)

The Hobbit: An Unexpected journey (In theaters, December 14th, 2012)

 

2013

Warm Bodies (In Theaters February 1st, 2013)

Beautiful Creatures (In theaters February 13th, 2013)

The Host (In Theater March, 29th 2013)

Ender’s Game (In theaters November 1st, 2013)

Percy Jackson: The Sea of Monsters (In Theaters August 16th, 2013)

The Mortal Instruments: City of Bones (In theaters August 23rd, 2013)

The Seventh Son (In Theaters October 18th, 2013)

13 Reasons Why (2013)

Delirium (2013)

Firelight (2013)

World War Z (Summer 2013)

How I Live Now (2013)

How I Survived (2013)

Mazerunner (2013)

Pride and Prejudice and Zombies (2013)

The Forest of Hands and Teeth (2013)

The Spectacular Now (2013)

Untitled (Vampire academy project) (2013)

Untitled (House of Night Project) (2013)

 

2014

Deathnote (2014)

Down a Dark Hall (2014)

Gone (2014)

The True Confessions of Charlotte Doyle (2014)

Wings (2014)

 

2015
Scorpio Races (2015)

 

Someday
Rot & Ruin

The Knife of Never Letting Go

Matched

 

*Obviously there are, as there is an entire Academy Award category dedicated to them.

**As it turns out, he also has a website with the tagline Empower Youth. Empower Us All. I am now following him on twitter because obviously this guy gets it.

 

What's On Your Mind?

