No-added-sugar cinnamon Chex mix!

I am always looking for low sugar snacks, because sugar is my weakness. But I still want flavorful, crunchy, tasty, sweet things! So I make them for myself. Today I made a no-sugar-added cinnamon Chex mix. The recipe is as follows. *This is gluten free (a lifestyle I have followed since Feb 2012).

Combine in a large microwaveable bowl 4 cups of Rice Chex, 4 cups of Corn Chex, 3 cups of Nature’s Path Whole O’s, 1 cup of raw no-salt almonds, 6 Tablespoons of ground flax seed, 1 Tablespoon of cinnamon.

In a microwaveable bowl, melt 1/3 cup of coconut oil (10 seconds at a time, approximately 30 seconds). Pour over the dry mixture, mix mix mix mix mix til all pieces are coated. Stick in the microwave for 1 minute. Stire. Another minute. Stir. 30 seconds. Stir. Pour onto parchment paper and let come to room temperature. EAT!!

The Chex website has tons, tons, tons of Chex Mix recipes. The snickerdoodle one is what I made a couple weeks ago…and gorged on. It was super yummy, but with how much I consume in one sitting, I needed less sugar. So, while my modified recipe isn’t as sweet, it is as satisfying (for my tastebuds and my peace of mind).

I met with a nutritionist this past week, and she really put my mind at ease in terms of including fat and carbohydrates in my diet. I was really missing out! A cup of this as an afternoon snack will be a great addition to my days. Enjoy!

What's On Your Mind?

