Top 5 Reads of 2012

I am an obsessive list-maker (and checker-off-er-er), and my LibraryThing account is my favorite list of all. Every time I read a book I add it to my list. It is how I conduct Reader’s Advisory sometimes when my brain is fried and I cannot for the life of me recall that book with that girl and that boy who went on that trip.

It was LibraryThing that got me thinking about my favorite books of the year. And my boss who is tweeting (on behalf of the library) #bestbooks and asked for titles.

So what are my top 5 reads of the year? Well that’s a difficult question to answer. I don’t want to just name YA books, nor do I want to name all realistic fiction titles. But is that fair to the integrity of the list? Probably not, but I’m going with it. Therefore, my top 5 reads of 2012 are:

habit

The Power of Habit, why we do what we do in business and life by Charles Duhigg is a fantastic non-self-help book about habits and how making little changes in your personal life, your marketing campaign, or in the way your huge corporation handles employee safety can save you from running in circles. Wonderful read-able non-fiction that I have recommended no less than eight dozen times.

 

 

fault

The Fault in Our Stars by John Green is one of the most beautiful, tragic love stories I’ve ever read (which is saying a lot because during the summer of 1999 I read every Lurlene McDaniel novel I could get my hands on, and in every single one of them a teenager dies). Hazel and August are smart and they are witty and they are dying. Their romance is a whirlwind only because long-term wasn’t in the stars for them.

 

 

breed

Breed by Chase Novak is absolutely one of the most terrifying realistic horror novels I have ever read. Mom and dad get fertility treatment from a doctor in Slovenia and end up wanting to eat their own children. A race for their lives ensues.

AAH!!! Read this!

 

 

 

heft

Heft by Liz Moore took a social taboo and made readers care about the person instead of the topic. Morbid obesity (and the home-bound life that comes with it) is exposed in this novel with parallel story lines, one of a large man with a lovely heart, and a young man whose alcoholic mother has made him a man in a boy’s body.

 

 

 

ready player

Ready Player One by Ernest Cline is set in a futuristic world of super rich versus super poor, where gamers the world over have the chance of winning a dead billionaire’s fortune if they can win the last video he created. The characters are authentic, and the fictional villains are plucked from today’s biggest companies. The audiobook was one of my favorites of the year, too.

 

 

 

**What were YOUR favorite reads of 2012?

2 thoughts on “Top 5 Reads of 2012

What's On Your Mind?

