Awards Season! And no…I don’t mean the Oscars

MY STREAK IS OVER!! I finally finally FINALLY guessed an award-winning novel!! YYYYYEEEESSS!!!!! This may seem trivial to you, but I truly was beginning to think that I had no idea what a “good book” looked like, because I had never read a winning book before it was announced that it won. The year 2013 has changed all that my friends, and in numerous categories! I can keep my job!* Yes!

I won’t do what every other blogger is doing and review every winning title. Who has time for that. Instead I will highlight the ones I’ve read and encourage you to read them.

printz

I read Printz Honor book Aristotle & Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Saenz last September at the recommendation of a coworker who said of the novel, “I haven’t fallen in love with a book since high school. Until this.” That brief review encouraged me to read. And read I did. This beautiful coming-of-age story also won the Pura Belpré award and the Stonewall Book Award.

Alex-AWARDSWinner_lowres

Of the ten Alex Award Winners, I read 4, one of which I have yet to review. I’ll do that this week. (Maybe?) They are:
girlchild by Tupelo Hassman
Mr. Penumbra’s 24-Hour Bookstore: a novel by Robin Sloan
Tell the Wolves I’m Home by Carol Rifka Brunt
Where’d You Go, Bernadette? by Marie Semple

odyss

The Odyssey Award winner The Fault in Our Stars was actually the fifth book (of 77) that I read in 2012 and called it possibly “my favorite book of 2012”, despite it being January. But I didn’t care.

Oh, and I totally read Creepy Carrots! illustrated by Peter Brown, written by Aaron Reynolds, but this is a YA and adult book blog. Not a children’s blog. I’ll save you from a review of that fun, “scary” children’s book.


*It is not a pre-requisite to guess or even read award-winning YA literature, but it is a point of pride. For me. Probably not for many other people.

One thought on “Awards Season! And no…I don’t mean the Oscars

  1. Pingback: 2014 Youth Media Award Winners | A Librarian's Take

What's On Your Mind?

