Review: Let’s Explore Diabetes with Owls by David Sedaris

 

lets

David Sedaris has once again given his dedicated fans a (thorough and intimate) glimpse into his personal life with Let’s Explore Diabetes with Owls: essays, etc. His relationship with his dentist has not changed (you’d think after so many years of dental work, he’d be in the clear…but it seems like gum disease is a constant nuisance). Nor has his ability to make readers want to call Child Protective Services on his parents, despite it being 40-some-odd years after the fact. I suppose the statute of limitations has run out, though…

Let’s Explore Diabetes with Owls is not only the best title of a book – ever. I dare you to give me a better one – but the new stories (as there are a couple re-prints from previous anthologies) prove that Sedaris is funnier than ever. In Understanding Understanding Owls David tells reads of his collection of owls, including napkins, coasters, trivets, plates, and more.

Does there come a day in every man’s life when he looks around and says to himself, I’ve got to weed out some of these owls?

But his obsessive collecting doesn’t get in the way of him buying a stuffed (as in taxidermied) owl for his partner Hugh…as a Valentine’s Day present. That in and of itself is a do what? moment, but David tops it off with chocolate, because Hugh is just that special.

Recommended for:
Anyone with a sense of humor. If you don’t “do” funny, clever, gay, or Democrat, don’t read this book.

Read-alikes:
Every other David Sedaris book (except for Squirrel Seeks Chipmunk…unless you dig animal narrators. It’s not really my thing.)

Are you There, Vodka? It’s me, Chelsea by Chelsea Handler. I love her demanding, clever, foul-mouthed descriptions of her reckless, wild youth.

Advertisements

What's On Your Mind?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s