Wednesday Reads

Is your summer reading list as long as mine? Conversely, are you just as bored with reading? Because I sure am.

Wait no. I’m not bored with reading. My mind is simply pre-occupied with other things, leaving me unable to concentrate on a book long enough to get into the story. My mind wanders, I fall asleep, or I jolt up from the couch realizing there were 12 other things I needed to do.

I have read so few books this year that I am beginning to feel like a book reviewing/blogging fraud. Maybe I shouldn’t publish that.

I am currently reading:

Mirror Mirror OFF the Wall COVERMirror, Mirror Off the Wall: how I learned to love my body by not looking at it for a year by Kjerstin Gruys is an autoenthography (using yourself as a test subject and anazlying your findings to better understand society) of a woman who refuses to look in the mirror (read: judge her physical appearance) for one year. Oh yeah, and in the year she is getting married. I have written dozens of quotes and comments while reading, so expect a detailed review.

lean inI have been reading Lean In by Sheryl Sandberg for a while now. Picking it up, putting it down, returning it to the library a couple days late (librarian = no fines! woo!). But today I went and bought my own copy so I can stop making notes in a little notebook, and start dogearing, highlighting, and making notations in the margins. This is an incredible book. Look for a review in July (at the rate I’m going…).

peanutPeanut by Ayun Halliday & Paul Hoppe is a YA graphic novel about a girl who moves to a new school and, in order to gain attention, pretends to have a peanut allergy. I’ve read about it in a number of places, and my boss recommended it, so I thought I’d give it a shot.

I love recommendations, so make them! Leave suggestions in the comments.

Oh, and have a really, really great day.

One thought on “Wednesday Reads

  1. Pingback: Wednesday Reads: I never have enough bookmarks | A Librarian's Take

What's On Your Mind?

