Wednesday Reads: horror and hilarity

I finished reading Choke (it’s only 5 CDs long, thank goodness, because I was getting really sick of rolling up my windows at every stoplight) and will be reviewing that later. I put down Mr. Sebastian and the Negro Musician. Therefore, I have a whole new Wednesday Reads for you! And they could not be more opposite.

shiningThe Shining Girls by Lauren Beukes is horror, fantasy (fantasy more akin to The Diviners* than Seraphina), thriller that follows a murderer and the woman who is hunting him down. I think. I’m only 25 pages in – and totally hooked! – but I’m not quite sure where it’s going. A colleague gave it a glowing review, so I don’t really mind that I don’t know much about the plot.

 

 

world's

The World’s Strongest Librarian: a memoir or Tourette’s, Faith, Strength, and the Power of Family by Josh Hanagarne is a hilarious memoir of a 6’7 tall weight-lifting librarian from Salt Lake city, Utah. Seventeen pages in and I’ve already read four passages aloud to a coworker in the lunch room.** An example: “After lunch a teenage boy with chains crisscrossing his pants slumped into the library, limping as if he’d stepped into a bear trap. He needed some books for school, he’d told me, ‘Books that aren’t all gay and shit.’ I’d love to have a sign demarcating that section.” That dead-pan humor is all over his website, too. Go there. Read. Laugh out loud.

 

A friend of mine has a friend who works at a bookstore, and gave her a million (okay, twenty-something) ARCs. She was interested in all but nine, which she gave to me. They include a few that I want to read, and some I don’t. But mostly, ones I do. I was just getting over my pity-party about not going to ALA Annual Conference and picking up fifty Advanced Reader Copies (ARCs), but this has totally sated my appetite for pre-published books.

 

*I just realized – to my horror – that I read Libba Bray’s The Diviners in April and never reviewed itWhat?! What was going on in my life that I forgot to review that exceptional novel?! I recommend it at least 4 times a week but I can’t review it on my blog?!

**Annoying librarian habit #36

What's On Your Mind?

