review: Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

fangirl

Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell is the story of Cath (real name Cather, twin sister is Wren…get it? yeah, their mom wasn’t expecting twins and didn’t want to think of another name), whose anxiety keeps her from really enjoying her freshman year at the University of Nebraska. Daughter of a similarly-diagnosed father (but throw in a little manic just to keep things interesting) and estranged mother, Cath’s saving grace is her twin sister. Unfortunately college brings out the worst in her twin, and she chooses drinking, partying, and silly girlfriends over her sister and their shared love of writing Simon Snow fanfiction. So Cath continues writing by herself. But – unexpectedly to Cath but expected by YA readers – a boy gets in her way. More like two boys.

Levi is the always-smiling kinda-ex-boyfriend of her buxom roommate Reagan. Nick is her writing partner from her upper-level fiction-writing course. She is uniquely attracted to both, but denies her feelings because she’d rather spend her evenings and free time with the fictional Simon and Baz, characters from a fictional Harry Potter-like series whom she has re-written to be gay. The fictional fanfiction segments have as much typical Rainbow Rowell wit as the actual novel:

Simon spends the entire fifth book following Baz around and describing his eyes. It’s like a thesaurus entry for ‘gray’.

Cath writes about the two boys’ interactions and feelings so well, so intensely, but shies away from her own possible romantic interludes. Even when Levi says things that got my heart racing, she tries to deny her feelings.

I always get lost in the library, he said, no matter how many times I go. In fact, I think I lost there more, the more I go. Like it’s getting to know me and revealing new passages.

This is much more than a story about a college romance, or twin sisters finding their individual identities, or raising your voice over a sea of noise. It’s family, friendship, love, respect, and most importantly…it’s real. Rainbow has done it again. She has written a book that, despite not actually being Cather, I am Cather. And Wren. And Levi, too. Her characters transcend stereotypes and become multi-dimensional people who I feel like I know. Heck, maybe I do.

Read-alikes:
Anything other book by Rainbow Rowell, and Seraphina by Rachel Hartman (despite it being fantasy, complete with dragons and sword fighting).

Recommended for:
Young adult women, fans of fanfiction (I loved reading what Cath went through to publish her stories, and her sense of ownership over them), girls who feel that they are alone. It’s rather empowering, even.

—————————————————————————————

The book follows Cath’s love of fanfiction, right? So I LOVE that when I Google image search the book and fan art comes up. This one by artist Simini Blocker of Cath and Reagan is just spot-on and I love it. (She drew more of the Fangirl characters and I just adore them all.) More than that, readers are painting their nails in the color scheme of the book’s cover, and baking cakes. I just…I want to do all of it, but I have no one to do it with. 😦

fan

[Yet another] Side note to Eleanor & Park fans, IDK how I missed this until now but she posted her playlist for the book. Love it!!

Advertisements

One thought on “review: Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

  1. Pingback: review: Reality Boy by A.S. King | A Librarian's Take

What's On Your Mind?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s