review: Scar Boys by Len Vlahos

scar

The Scar Boys by Len Vlahos is the story of Harry – an oft-bullied teen who face is covered in scars following an unfortunate lightning incident. I’ll let you read the book to get those details…

Harry’s best friend Johnny is the popular, smart, handsome one. He’s not sure why they are really friends, but Harry goes along with it, if for no other reason than Johnny is the lead singer in their band, The Scar Boys – a nod to Harry’s face, and a pretty rad name for a band. The Scar Boys – who just so happen to have a gorgeous chick rocking out with them – go on the road to see if they have what it takes to go all the way. What happens on that trip, and most importantly, what happens to Harry, is life-changing.

I read an advanced copy of this while I was flying home from Las Vegas last summer, and was immediately drawn in. Harry carried his horrific childhood with him, even though he tried his best not to. When his time to shine arrived, his reaction stunned me.

This book comes out tomorrow, and I suggest you pick it up. And read Len’s essay here. He’s the kind of guy I’d like to have a drink with, and discuss life – not on an existential level, but life stories.

Recommended for: 
I think teen boys will connect to the raw emotions and words. Adult men will appreciate the musical influences, and might even re-live their own former rock band days.

Read-alikes: 
A.S. King books are quite similar to this one because the characters have been dealt a bad hand and they have to figure out if they are going to let the negative overtake them, or if they will over the negativity.

Advertisements

One thought on “review: Scar Boys by Len Vlahos

  1. Pingback: review: Fat Boy vs the Cheerleaders by Geoff Herbach | A Librarian's Take

What's On Your Mind?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s