review: Uganda Be Kidding Me by Chelsea Handler

uganda
Uganda Be Kidding Me is by one of the funniest women in the biz, Chelsea Handler. A memoir of her travels – including an African safari, the 2012 London Olympics, and Colorado – make me want to stuff myself into her purse and go with her everywhere. Everywhere. I’d go to Wal-Mart with her if she’d let me just to experience an outing in her presence.

Handler hates being alone so she takes people with her everywhere she goes. She actually ruined the anniversary plans one of her friends’ husbands had made because she insisted that she go to Africa with her. She made her sister leave the country when her family was relocating so she’d have at least one sister with her on the safari. She wants. She gets. I typically hate that kind of attitude in a person, but I make an exception for Handler – who gives as much as she takes. (She bought an aunt a house one Sunday afternoon when she was bored and hungover and because the aunt had been really good to her when she was a struggling actress/waitress years earlier.)

This is Handler’s fourth book, and it does not fail to make readers laugh out loud that snorty kind of laugh that makes others jump. Her deadpan voice comes through in her writing, so I completely believe her when she says she doesn’t use a ghostwriter.

Recommended for:
Anyone who doesn’t mind vulgar language and vivid descriptions of defecation and sex will LOVE this book!

Read-alikes:
Any other book by Handler (except Lies that Chelsea Handler Told Me which is actually written by her friends and family. It’s okay…but not fantastic because it’s not written by her, per say.)

I imagine the Mindy Kaling book Everyone is Hanging Out Without Me is similar, or so I believe because of things I’ve been told. In deadpan humor, I mean…not in the foul-mouthed kind of way.

Advertisements

Wednesday Reads: horror and hilarity

I finished reading Choke (it’s only 5 CDs long, thank goodness, because I was getting really sick of rolling up my windows at every stoplight) and will be reviewing that later. I put down Mr. Sebastian and the Negro Musician. Therefore, I have a whole new Wednesday Reads for you! And they could not be more opposite.

shiningThe Shining Girls by Lauren Beukes is horror, fantasy (fantasy more akin to The Diviners* than Seraphina), thriller that follows a murderer and the woman who is hunting him down. I think. I’m only 25 pages in – and totally hooked! – but I’m not quite sure where it’s going. A colleague gave it a glowing review, so I don’t really mind that I don’t know much about the plot.

 

 

world's

The World’s Strongest Librarian: a memoir or Tourette’s, Faith, Strength, and the Power of Family by Josh Hanagarne is a hilarious memoir of a 6’7 tall weight-lifting librarian from Salt Lake city, Utah. Seventeen pages in and I’ve already read four passages aloud to a coworker in the lunch room.** An example: “After lunch a teenage boy with chains crisscrossing his pants slumped into the library, limping as if he’d stepped into a bear trap. He needed some books for school, he’d told me, ‘Books that aren’t all gay and shit.’ I’d love to have a sign demarcating that section.” That dead-pan humor is all over his website, too. Go there. Read. Laugh out loud.

 

A friend of mine has a friend who works at a bookstore, and gave her a million (okay, twenty-something) ARCs. She was interested in all but nine, which she gave to me. They include a few that I want to read, and some I don’t. But mostly, ones I do. I was just getting over my pity-party about not going to ALA Annual Conference and picking up fifty Advanced Reader Copies (ARCs), but this has totally sated my appetite for pre-published books.

 

*I just realized – to my horror – that I read Libba Bray’s The Diviners in April and never reviewed itWhat?! What was going on in my life that I forgot to review that exceptional novel?! I recommend it at least 4 times a week but I can’t review it on my blog?!

**Annoying librarian habit #36